A technology cluster engineering the energy future 

Digital Requirements in the Natural Resources Industries

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 09/02/2021 - 10/02/2021
14:30

Categories


Workshop 9-10 February 2021 

Engineers in the natural resources industry spend many hours working with requirements. These requirements are all too often in the form of paper or PDF documents. This approach is costly and leads to inconsistencies and errors in design and construction. A digital representation of requirements prevents these problems. Digital requirements can be shared effectively between customers and suppliers. They also allow the use of artificial intelligence to engineers help in design, purchasing, construction and verification.

This workshop discusses the current state of the art in digital requirements. We with then work on defining an agenda for research and education that will allow digital requirements to revolutionize how we build large  capital projects.

Agenda

Tuesday 9th February

  • Introduction to DSYNE
  • Operator’s perspective: James Haug, Shell
  • The perception of systems engineering and requirement management in industry: a survey. Siv Engen, USN
  • Supplier’s perspective: Kirsten Helle, TechnipFMC
  • Industrial position statements.
  • Workshop on DSYNE’s focus and industrial needs.

Wednesday 10th February

  • The READI project: a tutorial on vision, method and tools: Arild Waaler, University of Oslo
  • An IBM view of requirements.
  • Perspectives from each academic partner.
  • Workshop on topics and form for a course in digital requirements.

Practical details

Due to COVID-19, this workshop is a virtual event, spread over two half days.

Each session will start at 2:30 pm (Central Europe), 10:30am (Brazil), 8:30am (New York) and 7:30am (Houston).

Each session will last three hours, with a ten-minute break

* The DSYNE project is an INTPART network project, financed by the Research Council of Norway and DIKU – the Norwegian Agency for International Cooperation and Quality Enhancement in Higher Education. The network brings together six leading universities in Norway, Brazil and the United States. The network will work with industrial partners to hold seminars and workshops and develop a common course on Digital Requirements.

Interested? Get in touch with Energy Valleys Head of Members Success & Conference,  Benedicte Tangen